Once Again…

Here I am at the beginning of new year. With me are my two kids–yup both of ’em. Once again I have pulled my Weasley out of school to teach him at home.

I have done this twice now.

Both times I failed.

I got so overwhelmed with how to teach him that I put him back in school for fear of failure. My failure. I was worried about giving him the “right” education. About being organized enough to teach him every thing he needs to know. Or everything that the school system told me he needs to know.

But what do they know?

And how am I supposed to teach a child when I’m not being true to my own self? I am happiest when I am a free spirit. If I want to teach my kids about leaves one day and long division on another then that’s what I’ll do, darn it. No one can tell me what my child needs or what I need at a particular moment in time. I guess in some ways this makes me an unschooler. Forget those complicated homeschool planners. I don’t need them. I need Weasley and Wiggles to be happy. I need them to learn but in their own way and at their own pace. And I need to teach them but it in my own way.

Our journey should be interesting. And unique. And that is great!

2 responses to “Once Again…

  1. I’m so excited to see these appearing in my rss feed again! Do it!

  2. I’m all for interesting and unique. I’m a bit of a round peg myself. It’s a good thing. The world needs more round pegs.

Leave a Reply

